On top of 13 new cases of COVID-19 in the Kenora area, with two of those cases assumed to be in Wauzhushk Onigum, Northwestern Health Unit staff have confirmed an additional case in the Rainy River district.

Follow-up with those involved has started and anyone identified as a contact for this case will be reached directly by the NWHU.

On January 2, as they reported an additional 6 cases, the NWHU said “there continues to be an increase in cases in the District of Rainy River region and this is no longer contained to the community of Rainy River,”, with an outbreak in both the Atikokan Hospital as well as a long-term care home.

Through their COVID-19 reporting page, the NWHU has also confirmed that the region's first COVID-19 death was in the Rainy River district. On December 23, staff said they were an elderly individual with other health issues.

To date, there have been 193 confirmed cases and four probable cases of COVID-19 in the district, including one death. 164 cases are listed as resolved, there are currently 20 active cases in the Kenora region and 13 active cases in the District in Rainy River according to the health unit.

NWHU recommends that everyone assume COVID-19 is in their community and practise preventive measures like physical distancing, wearing a mask in enclosed public spaces and when physical distancing is a challenge, good hand hygiene, and not touching their face.

Anyone who has symptoms, or who has been in contact with a positive case, should self-isolate and get tested.

The Rainy River District is defined as: ​Alberton, Atikokan, Barwick, Big Grassy River 35G, Big Island Mainland 93, Chapple, Couchiching 16A, Dawson, Devlin, Emo, Finland, Fort Frances, La Vallee Township, Lake of the Woods, Long Sault 12, Manitou Rapids 11, Morley, Morson, Neguaguon Lake 25D, Rainy Lake 17A, Rainy Lake 17B, Rainy Lake 18C, Rainy Lake 26A, Rainy River, Rainy River Unorganized Territory, Sabaskong Bay (Part) 35C, Saug-a-Gaw-Sing 1, Seine River 23A, Seine River 23B, Sleeman, Stratton