Voters in Iskatewizaagegan #39 Independent Nation, also known as Shoal Lake #39 First Nation, have re-elected Chief Gerald Lewis for a fourth term.

The incumbent Lewis led with 99 votes over candidates Barbara ‘Bub’ Kejick, Garland Kejick and Leon Douglas Mandamin. Lewis was first elected as Chief in 2016, and is now serving in his sixth year for the community.

Lewis has been a strong advocate for climate change mitigation and watershed management for Lake of the Woods, and has been working closely with Grand Council Treaty #3’s Environmental Chiefs group. He was also involved in the negotiations to finally begin twinning Highway 17 near Kenora.

Joining Lewis in the Band council chambers include returning councillors James Reed Mandamin and Barbara Kejick, as well as new councillors Aldora Fair and Kristen Mandamin. Councillor Fred Greene who served in the previous term did not run for re-election.

Iskatewizaagegan #39 Independent Nation is located near Kenora on the north shore of Shoal Lake. The total registered population is 585, of which about 297 live on reserve as of 2020.