The Northwestern Health Unit is reporting three cases of COVID-19 in the region. Two of the new cases are in the Kenora region, while one of the cases in the Sioux Lookout region.

The Kenora region is defined as: English River 21, Jaffray-Mellick, Keewatin, Kenora , Kenora 38B, Lake Of The Woods 37, Minaki, Norman, Northwest Angle 33B, Rat Portage 38A, Redditt, Sabaskong Bay (Part) 35C, Sabaskong Bay 35D, Shoal Lake (Part) 39A, Shoal Lake (Part) 40, Shoal Lake 34B2, Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls, The Dalles 38C, Wabaseemoong, Whitefish Bay 32A, Whitefish Bay 33A and Whitefish Bay 34A.

The Sioux Lookout region is defined as: Bearskin Lake, Cat Lake 63C, Deer Lake, Hudson, Kee-Way-Win, Lac Seul 28, MacDowell Lake, Muskrat Dam Lake, North Spirit Lake, Osnaburgh 63B, Pickle Lake, Pikangikum 14, Poplar Hill, Sachigo Lake 1, Sandy Lake 88, Sioux Lookout, Slate Falls and Weagamow Lake 87.

Follow up has begun according to protocols and anyone identified as a close contact for the cases will be reached directly.

NWHU recommends that everyone assume COVID-19 is in their community and practice preventive measures like physical distancing, wearing a mask in enclosed public spaces and when physical distancing is a challenge, good hand hygiene, and not touching their face.

Anyone who has symptoms, or who has been in contact with a positive case, should self-isolate and get tested.

To date, there have been 122 confirmed and two probable cases of COVID-19 in the health unit catchment area with 91 of the 124 cases listed as resolved. There are currently 29 active cases in the Kenora region, one in the Dryden / Red Lake region and three in the Sioux Lookout region.