The list of candidates for the Sioux Lookout municipal election has been announced and, being the only person to file his papers, Doug Lawrance has been acclaimed mayor. 

This will be Lawrance's third term in office after defeating former mayor Dennis Leney in 2014. 

Running for council are current councillors Joe Cassidy, Cory Lago and Joyce Timpson. They will be up against Reece Van Breda, Joan Cosco, Dan Rioux, Brent Wesley, Luc Beaulne and Manuela Michelizzi. Six seats are offered for council. 

Unofficial School Trustee Candidates include: 

  • Jim Kulchyski (English Separate - Northwest Catholic District School Board)
  • Cathy Bowen (English Separate - Northwest Catholic District School Board)
  • Steve Poling (English Public - Keewatin-Patricia District School Board)

The municipal election will take place October 24, 2022.