Sioux Lookout Mayor Doug Lawrance campaigned as a Liberal in the last election, but he didn't waste any time in offering his best wishes, after Kenora-Rainy River MPP Greg Rickford was named to Doug Ford's Tory cabinet at Queen's Park.

"From the northwestern Ontario perspective, Mr. Rickford -- congratulations to him -- he's taking on what was once three ministries. That could be a positive for the northwest. He has an understanding of our needs. It could be very beneficial at the cabinet table," he said.

Rickford takes over Northern Development and Mines, along with Energy and Indigenous Affairs.

Kenora Mayor Dave Canfield says councils across the northwest are ready to do business with the new government at Queen's Park.

"We will be sending the same message as we sent to the old government. We don't come to you with problems. We come to you with solutions," he said.

Mayors will be meeting with the new members of cabinet in August. At that time, they'll find out more about resource revenue sharing for municipalities and First Nations, as well as plans for housing and social services.


Other appointments include:

Peter Bethlenfalvy - President of the Treasury Board

Raymond Cho - Minister for Seniors and Accessibility

Steve Clark - Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Christine Elliott - Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and Deputy Premier

Victor Fedeli - Minister of Finance and Chair of Cabinet

Doug Ford - Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs

Merrilee Fullerton - Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities

Ernie Hardeman - Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Sylvia Jones - Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

Lisa MacLeod - Minister of Children, Community and Social Services and Minister Responsible for Women's Issues

Monte McNaughton - Minister of Infrastructure

Caroline Mulroney - Attorney General and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs

Rod Phillips - Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

Greg Rickford - Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs

Laurie Scott - Minister of Labour Todd Smith - Minister of Government and Consumer Services, and Government House Leader

Lisa Thompson - Minister of Education

Michael Tibollo - Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services

Jim Wilson - Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade

John Yakabuski - Minister of Transportation

Jeff Yurek - Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry