Results are in for the 2022 Municipal Election in Sioux Lookout.

Doug Lawrance has been acclaimed as Mayor. This will be Lawrance’s third term as Mayor of the community, after first being elected in 2014 and re-elected in 2018. He defeated former Mayor Dennis Leney for the seat.

“I’m expecting more of the same direction that we had. We’ll see the direction the new council will want to take. But I believe we’ll carry on doing what we’ve been doing and continue making progress,” said Lawrance, before council results were released.

Joining Lawrance will be returning councillor Joe Cassidy (725), Cory Lago (612), and Joyce Timpson (592), as well as new members Reece Van Breda (565), Luc Beaulne (614) and Joan Cosco (710).

Lawrance has previously served as the Director of the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Care Foundation, has held a seat on the Kenora District Services Board for a number of years, and has served the Sioux Lookout Police Services Board and the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association.

Lawrance has lived in Sioux Lookout since 1985. In the 2018 provincial election, he ran as the Liberal candidate for the Kiiwetinoong riding – which was won by Sol Mamakwa with the NDP.