The police services board which oversees the Treaty Three Police Service has selected Inspector Cheryl Gervais to assume the role of Chief of Police.

A member of Iskatewizaagegan #39 First Nation, Gervais brings more than 20 years of experience to the role, in addition to what the board calls an unwavering commitment to the communities as well assuming numerous leadership positions.

In a release the board states it expressed its wholehearted support for Gervais' appointment.

"We have full confidence that she will continue to serve our communities with the same level of commitment and professionalism that she has shown throughout her career."

She replaces former Chief of Police Kai Liu, whose retirement became official on August 31st.

The Treaty Three Police Service is responsible for policing duties in 23 First Nation communities within the Treaty Three territory.